Jeptoo, Mosop among fast field of runners lined for Boston Marathon

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Jan 21, 2022
  • Dennis Kimetto at a past race in Tokyo.

Reigning champions Lelisa Desisa and Rita Jeptoo will return to defend their titles, but will be challenged by Boston’s fastest ever field, comprising 46 athletes from 13 countries.

It includes Olympic medallists, previous winners of Chicago, New York City, Tokyo and Boston, and champions of more than 80 global marathons.

Seven men in the field have run faster than 2:05:30, including Desisa, who took the silver medal in the marathon at the 2013 IAAF World Championships.

Kimetto also confirmed 

Kenya's  Dennis Kimetto may be Desisa’s strongest challenger.

The 29-year-old Kenyan holds the 25km world record and has a marathon best of 2:03:45 from his 2013 Chicago victory when he broke the course record.

Joining the duo is Moses Mosop, who ran the second-fastest time ever run on Boston’s slightly downhill point-to-point course with his 2:03:06 second-place finish in 2011.

Mosop then went on to win the Chicago Marathon later that year. Ethiopians Gebre Gebremariam and Markos Geneti have also run sub-2:05 and have experience on the course. Gebremariam has finished third at Boston twice and won in New York City in 2010.

Other strong Kenyan challengers will be three-time Amsterdam winner and Rotterdam champion Wilson Chebet Frankline Chepkwony, who is a past champion in Seoul and Zurich, world junior record-holder Eric Ndiema.

Cherop, Jeptoo headline women 

On the women’s side, the historic win will be difficult to secure with nine women owning personal best times faster than 2:23. Headliners include the top four finishers from last year’s race: Rita Jeptoo, Meseret Hailu, Sharon Cherop and Shalane Flanagan.

After winning Boston for the second time, Jeptoo went on to win in Chicago in 2:19:57 and was the only woman in the world last year to break 2:20.

World half marathon champion Hailu beat 2012 Boston champion Cherop by three seconds to secure second place in Boston last year, having set a course record of 2:21:09 in Amsterdam in 2012.(IAAF)

Selected confirmed runners

Moses Mosop (KEN) 2:03:06
Dennis Kimetto (KEN) 2:03:45
Lelisa Desisa (ETH) 2:04:45
Gebregziabher Gebremariam (ETH) 2:04:53
Markos Geneti (ETH) 2:04:54
Wilson Chebet (KEN) 2:05:27
Tilahun Regassa (ETH) 2:05:27
Shami Dawud (ETH) 2:05:42
Eric Ndiema (KEN) 2:06:07
Frankline Chepkwony (KEN) 2:06:11
Micah Kogo (KEN) 2:06:56

Mare Dibaba (ETH) 2:19:52
Rita Jeptoo (KEN) 2:19:57
Jemima Jelagat Sumgong (KEN) 2:20:48
Meseret Hailu (ETH) 2:21:09
Eunice Kirwa (KEN) 2:21:41
Sharon Cherop (KEN) 2:22:28
Caroline Kilel (KEN) 2:22:34