KCB intend to stay top after winning Prinsloo 7's

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Sep 25, 2021
  • Darwin Mukidza is one of the key players for KCB who hope to maintain the momentum in the fourth tournament in Eldoret. (SAN. File Photo)

The record card reads, three tournaments, three different winners after Prinsloo Sevens, the third tournament of the Kenya Rugby Union National Sevens Circuit.

Eldoret beckons and there could be a new winner. Kenya Commercial Bank, the top seeds for the fourth leg in Eldoret intend to maintain the momentum.

Dennis Mwanja, the KCB coach who won Prinsloo Sevens as a player three years ago and guided the bankers to this year's title believes he has found the right chemistry. Staying on top, keeping the winning spirit and attitude is KCB's mantra in the next tournaments.

He attributed the win in Nakuru to continuous improvement, team chemistry, believing in self and breaking the quarter final jinx. Also, the former Kenya Sevens player added experience, composure and leadership from national team players in Nakuru steadied the ship.

Mitch Ocholla, the Nakuru RFC coach admitted KCB deserved the win. "KCB were better than us in the second half. Full credit to them." 

The hosts who dropped to the Challenge Trophy in Kababeri Sevens defied odds to reach the final. "I am prour of the Nakuru players who bounced back to main cup competition. They will be ready for Septuka," he stated.

All eyes were on Homeboyz after an unpeaten open day. Paul Murunga, the Homeboyz coach did not field any of the national team players who were available for Prinsloo.

He may use them for the next tournament. Augustine Lugonzo and Bush Mwale are some of the key players.    

KCB 29 Nakuru RFC 5

Kenya Commercial Bank beat hosts Nakuru RFC 29-5 in the final on Sunday to lift the trophy.

Nakuru who reached the final for the first time this season exerted early pressure early but were unable to break through a solid KCB defense.

When they did, it was Nelson Oyoo who crossed the chalk line for a 5-0 lead at half time.

But, that is as far as they went because on resumption, Shaban Ahmed drew level and then converted Jacob Ojee's try for a 12-5 lead. He completed his brace and converted to extend the lead 19-5.

Mike Wanjala and Andrew Amonde scored a try each to seal their fourth Prinsloo Sevens title. They were winners in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

In the semi-finals, KCB narroly beat Strathmore University 14-10. The students set the pace by scoring the first try before Martin Owilla responded with a converted try for the lead to change hands 7-5 in KCB's favor.

Alex Olaba punished a mistake by the KCB defense to touch down as the lead changed hands for the third time with Strathmore University leading 10-7. Darwin Mukidza scored a converted try to steer KCB to the final.

Their opponents, Nakuru RFC also narrowly beat Homeboyz 19-12 in the other semi-final. Philip Owuor landed the opening try for the hosts who led 7-0.

Onyango exploited space

Chrispin Onyango then exploited space in the Homeboyz defense and raced clear to score the second try as Nakuru led 12-0 at halftime.

On resumption, Humphrey Mulama responded with a converted try for Homeboyz to narrow the gap 12-7 in Nakuru's favor. Oscar Ouma, Owuor's brother then raced under the posts after a big hit and accelerated to score.

Homeboyz responded with a late try but it was too late. 

On their way to the semi finals, Homeboyz edged out Mwamba 17-12 while Nakuru beat Kabras 29-17. KCB blanked Blak Blad 22-0 and Strathmore University narrowly beat Quins 22-17.

In the playoff, Homeboyz beat Strathmore University 21-15. Impala beat Menengai Oilers 17-7 to win the Challenge Trophy.

Day two results

Cup quarters

Nakuru RFC 29 Kabras 17, Homeboyz 17 Mwamba 12, KCB 22 Blak Blad 0, Kenya Harlequin FC 17 Strathmore University 22; Semi finals: Nakuru 19 Homeboyz 12, KCB 14 Strathmore University 10; Final: KCB 29 Nakuru 5.

Playoff: Homeboyz 21 Strathmore University 15. 

Fifth/Sixth place semis: Kabras 31 Mwamba 5, Blak Blad 10 Quins 12; Final: Kabras 17 Quins 12.

Challenge trophy quarters 

Impala 29 Catholic University 5, Mean Machine 10 Western Bulls 15, Mt. Kenya Univ, Thika 17 Nondies 17, Menengai Oilers 26 Mombasa 0; Semi finals: Menengai Oilers 14 Mt. Kenya Univ., Thika 12, Impala 17 Western Bulls 5; Final: Menengai Oilers 7 Impala 17.

13th/14th place semis: Catholic University 10 Mean Machine 12, Nondies 17 Mombasa 7; Final: Mean Machine 26 Nondies 17. 

Prinsloo Sevens day one results

Pool A: Impala, Nondies, Nakuru RFC, Blak Blad; Impala 10 Nakuru 14, Nondies 5 Blak Blad 22, Impala 12 Blak Blad 7, Nondies 10 Nakuru 14, Nakuru 17 Blak Blad 7, Impala 10 Nondies 17.

Pool B: Menengai Oilers, Kenya Harlequin FC, Mwamba, Western Bulls; Menengai Oilers 7 Mwamba 12, Quins 17 Western Bulls 5, Menengai Oilers 15 Western Bulls 15, Quins 33 Mwamba 22, Mwamba 19 Western Bulls 0, Menengai Oilers 12 Quins 5.

Pool C: Strathmore University, Homeboyz, Mean Machine, Mombasa RFC; Strathmore University 22 Mean Machine 17, Strathmore University 33 Mombasa 10, Homeboyz 27 Mean Machine 10, Mean Machine 12 Mombasa 27, Strathmore University 7 Homeboyz 33.

Pool D: Kabras Sugar, KCB, Catholic University, Mt. Kenya University (Thika). Homeboyz 38 Mombasa 0, Kabras 34 Catholic University 0, KCB 27 Mt. Kenya Univ, Thika 5,  Kabras 29 Mt. Kenya Univ., Thika 12, KCB 31 Catholic University 0, Catholic University 17 Mt. Kenya Univ., Thika 21, Kabras 12 KCB 27.

Compiled from KRU Website