Kenya 7's team to Dubai Sevens unchanged from Namibia

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Nov 28, 2021
  • Kenya has retained the same players who traveled to Namibia for the opening two legs of the World Rugby Sevens World Series. (Photo Courtesy)

The Kenya Rugby Union has settled for the same team that did duty at the Safland Sevens in Namibia for the opening two legs of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens World Series in Dubai and Cape Town.

This follows a break through in negotiations on how the contentious issue of unpaid bonuses will be disbursed. The government chipped in Sh13 million and KRU has to make a committment by today (Monday) on paying the balance of Sh8 million.

It is because of the impasse that KRU decided to retain the same team that travelled to Namibia for the opening two legs although Sports News Arena authoritatively established that newly appointed coach Innocent Simiyu had intended to name an experienced team.

Although the names have not been released, SNA can disclose the line up for Dubai.

The squad: Dan Sikuta, Martin Owilla, Frank Wanyama, Leonard Mugaisi, Billy Odhiambo, Darwin Mukidza, Cyprian Kuto, Andrew Amonde, Nelson Oyoo, Brian Tanga, Augustine Lugonzo, William Ambaka.

Non-travelling reserves: Alvin Otieno, Eden Agero, Collins Injera.