Kenya Junior Cricketers for Africa championships

By francis marangu
Dec 05, 2021
  • Daisy Wairimu is one of the players included in the Kenya junior team.

The Kenya under-19 ladies cricket team leaves the country on Friday for Tanzania where they will take part in this year’s Africa Junior Ladies Championships.

Six countries will participate in the three days tournament that runs from December 7-9 in Dar es Salaam.

The Kenyan contingent will comprise of 14 players who are drawn from various schools under the Cricket Kenya Development Program.

The ladies have been training at the Ruaraka Sports Club for two weeks and engaged in warm up matches with Nairobi U15 XI.

Captain Quinta Aoko, Daisy Wairimu, Jane Achieng and Faith Mwende are some of the players with exposure in the team having played at the senior level in the past. Having finished fourth last year, head coach Dun Okinyo says they are out to break the jinx this year.

"We hope to come up with a strong side that will make us win the event after the training we have had," he said. “The players are ready for the challenge."

Kenya first plays Uganda 

Defending champions Uganda, Botswana, Rwanda and Mozambique are the other teams confirmed for the tournament.

Kenya will open its campaign against Uganda in the event organized by Africa Cricket Association to promote ladies game in Africa.

Rwanda has also announced its squad for the event and will be captained by Cathia Uwamahoro.

She is confident of positive results after missing out on the podium finish last year. “We have had the best preparation ever with coaches training us well and hard so we hope to finish in a better position than last year,” she told the Rwanda Focus newspaper.

Full Squad: Quinta Aoko (Captain), Mary Wambui, Sharon Odera, Ruth Omwemo, Faith Mwende, Daisy Wairimu, Monica Ndambi, Edith Wanjiru, Emily Wairimu, Rose Awuor, Amy Mkirema, Vanessa Adhiambo. Jane Achieng, Jacqueline Adhiambo; Rwanda Team List: Cathia Uwamahoro, Babyish Ishimwe, Antoinette Mbabazi, Delphine Cyuzuzo, Betty Mukunzi, Sarah Uwera, Josee’ Marie Umuhoza, Jeanne Darc’ Akingeneye, Miriam Maina, Rafael Ganimana, Egidia Uwimana, Margaret Vumilia, Mary Diane Bimenyimana, Tina Byukusenge; Eric Ndangamyambi (coach).