Kenya names Cup of Nations squads

By elvince joshua
Sep 19, 2021
  • Kenya men's team during a training session at the City Park Stadium.(Photo by Shutterspeed)

Kisumu Simba utulity player, Zack Aura and Betsy Ommala of Telkom Orange will captain the national men and women's hockey teams during the Africa Cup of Nations to be held at City Park Hockey stadium from September 26 to October 6.

Aura retained the national armband having guided Kenyan in the 2011 Olympic qualifiers in Zimbambwe and he will be assisted by Richard Birir while Ommala will be deputized by Lillian Aura. New Zealand based goalkeeper Prajbeet Giddie will play his first competetive match for the nation having made a cut in the not-so-easy- to-break into Kenyan squad.

Former Strathmore University custodian who plies his trade with the Wellington India Hockey Club joined the team two weeks ago and he impressed the selectors.

Giddie will fight for the first position between the stick with James Kayieko and Linus Sang. Kenya's midfield is very competetive and coach Meshack Senge will have more options to choose from when he fields his squad as he settled for Italian based Barnabas Odhiambo, Willis Okeyo, Brian Musasia, Allan Iningu, Francis Esikuri and Frank Wanangwe.

There was no room for Leon Magomere, Sammy Oungo, Oliver Echenje,Tony Nyikuri and Felix Okoth as Senge named his squad Thursday.

Moses Cheplait will lead Kenya's attack assisted by Davis Wanangwe and George Mutira. The women's assault will be lead by Jackline Jow who has racked in 12 goals this season for Orange together with her team mate and golden boot challenger, Margaret Rotich and Pauline Naise. Rotich has scored five goals this season.

Terry Juma is expected to play a crucial role in the Kenya defence alongside Flavian Mutiva while Caroline Guchu and Laura Gichau will be marshalling the midfield.

Men's Team: Goalkeepers: James Kayieko, Linus Sang, Prajbeet Giddie Defenders: Richard Birir, Brian Saina, Wilson Otieno, Constant Wakhura, Kenneth Nyongesa, Hosea Walucho. Midfielders: Willis Okeyo, Allan Iningu, Brian Musasia, Barnabas Odhiambo, Francis Esikuri Frank Wanangwe. Forwards: Davis Wanangwe, George Mutira, Moses Cheplaiti, Zack Aura

Women team: Goalkeepers: Josephine Ataro, Ruth Njoki, Caroline Ngarachu. Defenders: Betsy Ommala, Flavian Mutiva, Terry Juma, Lucy Wangeci, Benazir Omotto, Rachael Ousa, Lorraine Nondi Midfielders: Caroline Guchu, Jane Ofula, Audrey Omaido and Glenis Namasake, Lilian Aura, Laura Gichau, Forward: Jackie Mwangi, Barbara Simiyu, Anita Agunda, Pauline Naise, Marget Rotich