Kenya names nine for FIM Africa Continental Championships

By samson ateka
Aug 19, 2021
  • Dekker Kihara in past action.

Kenya will be represented by nine riders during this year’s FIM Africa Motocross of African Nations Continental Championship slated for Syringa Park in South Africa on the weekend of August 31-September 1.

Making up the team are Kihara siblings Dekker (MX50) and Rolf (MX65) in their KTM bikes.

Teaming up with Rolf in the MX65 class is Alex Limo Moi also in a KTM contraption. Rohan Gandhi and Masalule Kituyi “Massa” will not only renew their rivalry in the MX125 class but will be hoping to also keep the foreigners at bay in what is anticipated to be a thriller in their category.

Kituyi and Rohan have dictated the pace on the regional scene and hope that their fast and furious antics will come in handy for Kenya down South.

Apollo Mbuki who skipped the recent FIM Africa Central Africa Championship at the Uganda Motor Sports Arena in Busiika, Kampala is back to bolster Kenya’s fortunes at the continental extravaganza.

Uganda hosted last championship Last year’s FIM continental championship was hosted by Uganda at the Busiika track.

This year, riders have a good change of scenario as they tackle the track at Syringa. The event will be organized Syringa Motocross Club.

Participating countries expected in South Africa are Zimbabwe, hosts South Africa, Kenya, Morocco, Uganda, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia, Angola, Tunisia, Botswana Development team, Egypt and Tanzania.

Regulations for the event have already been approved by FIM Africa. The access and nearest airport is Lanseria International Airport (approximately 10km from the track).

Documentation shall take place between noon and 6 pm Friday, September 30 at Syringa Motocross Track. Syringa is a motorsports complex situated in Muldersdrift.

The circuit length is 1.2km for the 65cc/85cc and 1.4km for the senior classes. The 50cc diminutives will run on a dedicated circuit of 750m).

The Kenya Team: Dekker Kihara (KTM50)-MX50, Rolf Kihara (KTM65) –MX65, Alex Limo Moi (KTM 65)-MX65, Rohan Gandhi (KTM125cc)-MX125, Masalule Kituyi (KTM 125cc)-MX125, Apollo Mbuki (Honda 250cc)-MX2, Ivan Guya (KTM150cc)-MX2, Tutu Maina (Kawasaki 250cc)-MX1, Alvin Shimekha (KTM125cc).