Kenya secures victory over Nepal in warmup matches

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Jan 11, 2022
  • Photo:ICC

Kenya bounced back to defeat Nepal by one wicket at St Andrew’s College, Christchurch)in the the second and final day of warm up matches.

The side overhauled Nepal’s total of 265 for eight with one ball and one wicket to spare, reaching 269 for nine following half centuries from Maurice Ouma (73) and Thomas Odoyo (66).

On Friday, Hong Kong beat Kenya by two runs.

Put in to bat, Hong Kong posted a total of 242, mainly due to the efforts of Mark Chapman, the left-handed batsman, who chipped in with an 89-ball 69, before he was bowled by Steve Tikolo in the 37th over, and Babar Hayat, who scored a 48-ball 46.

In reply, Kenya’s Irfan Karim hit a 164-ball 130, smashing nine fours and one six along the way.

Kenya made a steady start with Karim and Alex Obanda, the openers, who put on 41 runs in 12.4 overs.

However, twin strikes pegged them back when Obanda (12) and Morris Ouma, who could only manage eight runs, were dismissed in the space of 14 runs.

Rakep Patel then collaborated with Karim to string a partnership of 102 runs in 19 overs. Patel fell short of a half-century by just one run, scoring a 58-ball 49. Hong Kong bowlers prevented any lower order flourish, which meant Kenya could only manage 240 from their 50 overs.

Irfan Ahmed picked up three wickets giving away 32 runs in his six overs. On the same day, United Arab Emirates sealed a comprehensive 73-run win over Uganda.

In other matches on Saturday, a fine 70 off 86 balls from wicketkeeper-batsman Amjad Ali saw the United Arab Emirates (UAE) record a six-wicket victory over the Netherlands as the two top ranked teams of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier locked horns.

Scotland recorded a 63-run victory over Namibia at Christ’s College,while Uganda defeated Canada by 71 runs

World cup qualifier starts monday 

The ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014 (CWCQ) gets under way on Monday 13 January, with 10 of the leading Associate and Affiliate sides in the world vying for the final two qualification spots in the ICC’s pinnacle event, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 (CWC).

The 10 sides taking part in the ICC CWCQ NZ 2014, formerly known as the ICC Trophy, have been split into two groups of five teams each, with top ranked United Arab Emirates in Group A alongside 2005 winner Scotland, 2009 finalist Canada, Hong Kong and Nepal.

Group B includes 2001 champion Netherlands, two-time finalist Kenya, 2001 finalist Namibia, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and Uganda. he top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage, where they will play the teams from the opposing group.

The top two sides from this stage will progress to the 1 February final, which will be played at Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln.

The finalists will join the 10 Full Members as well as Afghanistan and Ireland in the ICC CWC in Australia and New Zealand, which will be played from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

The winner of the 1 February final will join co-hosts Australia and New Zealand, alongside Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England and Sri Lanka in Pool A, while the runner-up will team up with defending champion India, Ireland, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies and Zimbabwe in Pool B.