Kenya under-23 missing five players from Prisons club

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Aug 13, 2021
  • Faith Mondia, one of the players in the Kenya under-23 volleyball team training at the Nyayo National Stadium. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

Five Kenya Prisons women's volleyball team players have linked up with the provisional under-23 national team which is currently undergoing non residential training at the Nyayo National Stadium.

The five players including Shyrine Jepkemboi, Ann Lowem,Yvonne Wavinya, Lillian Leilei, and Irene Mbula, were yet to join the team which begun training last week as they had not been released by their  club.

The team under the stewardship of former international Cathrine Mabwi, Kenya Prisons assistant coach Josp Barasa and Kenya Commercial Bank head coach Vernon Kainga, are training for the forthcoming Confederation of African Volleyball Women’s Under 23 Championships slated for October 18-28 in Nairobi.

Ben Juma, the Kenya Volleyball Federation Secretary General, asked for support for the team as they await players from Kenya Pipeline and Bungoma County clubs to complete the 21 member squad. He had paid the youthful squad a visit at the Nyayo Stadium.

“It's almost full house. We hope the remaining players will join the other 14 players as soon as possible.” The tournament is a qualification round for the third edition of the FIVB Women’s U-23 World Championships in Ljubljana and Maribo in Slovenia in 2017.

The team will train three days a week from Wednesday to Friday. From August 23 they are expected to switch to daily preparations.

The squad

Left attackers - Edna Mwombe (Kenya Pipeline), Doreen Marani, Milgrin Lutubula (KCB), Irene Mbula (Prisons), Leah Okumu (Strathmore), middle blockers - Ann Lowem, Shyrine Jepkemboi (Prisons), Synaida Yvonne, Beldine Akinyi (Kenya Pipeline), Pauline Wafula (KCB), Maurine Okiru (Nairobi Water), Praxedes Wekesa (Bungoma County VC), Liberos - Sarah Were (unattached), Celestine Nyongesa (Kenya Pipeline), right attackers - Damaris Jepkorom (Nairobi Water), Yvonne Wavinya, Lillian Leilei (Prisons), Maurine Wekesa (Kenyatta University), Setters - Veronica Tanui (Kenya Pipeline), Faith Imodia (SPU), Lilian Kavinya (Unattached).