Kipchoge, Rudisha, Cheruiyot and Kipruto nominated for IAAF awards

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Oct 18, 2021
  • Eliud Kipchoge celebrates after winning the Olympic marathon gold in Rio.(Photo:SNA File)

Four Kenyan Olympic champions have made the shortlist for the 2016 IAAF World Athlete of the year.

The Olympic marathon champion Eliud Kipchoge, 800m champion David Rudisha, 3000m Olympic Champion Conseslus Kipruto and Vivian Cheruiyot the 10000m silver winner and gold medallist over the 5000m are the four Kenyans in the listing of 20.

The 10 men and 10 women nominees were unveiled on Tuesday by the sports governing body ahead of the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on Friday 2 December 2016.

It is the first time that Kipruto who beat a classy field to win steeplechase gold in Rio is making the list for the prestigious award which Rudisha has been nominated thrice before and won it in 2012 when he broke the world record at the Olympics in London.

Kipruto won the Diamond trophy for his dominating run in the series.

Cheruiyot too is no stranger to the listing having won it in 2011 when she clinched double track titles in Daegu.

Kipchoge considered the finest marathoner of the moment won the Olympic gold his third gold at the games after silver and bronze on track and successfully defended his London marathon title about eight months after he had won the berlin marathon. A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF's social media platforms.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

The voting will close on November 1.

At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco.

The nominees


Usain Bolt (JAM)

Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)

Ashton Eaton (USA)

Mo Farah (GBR)

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)

Omar McLeod (JAM)

David Rudisha (KEN)

Christian Taylor (USA)

Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)



Almaz Ayana (ETH)

Ruth Beitia (ESP)

Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)

Kendra Harrison (USA)

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)

Ruth Jebet (BRN)

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)

Caster Semenya (RSA)

Elaine Thompson (JAM)

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)