Kipsang Shortlisted for world athlete of the year award

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Oct 01, 2021

Kenya's world marathon record holder Wilson Kipsang has made the shortlisf for the coveted World Athlete of the Year Award.

Kipsang,31,ran 2.03:23 at the Berlin Marathon on Sunday is among 10 men and 10 women who have been shortlisted for the 2013 Award.

Kipsang arrived back home early Tuesday alongside the women's winner Florence Kiplagat, Eliud Kipchoge, second in the men's race and third place finisher Geoffrey Kipsang.

Mohammed Aman, Tirunesh Dibabaarnd Meseret Defar all from Ethiopia are the other three African athletes who have made the shortlist. 

The candidates have been selected by an IAAF panel of athletics experts.

An email poll involving the World Athletics Family** begins today, Tuesday 1 October and will close on Sunday 27 October, midnight CET.

At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF.

The Council of the International Athletic Foundation will then select the male and female winners, with the announcement taking place live on stage during the 2013 World Athletics Gala on Saturday 16 November 2013.

The Candidates for the World Athlete of the Year Award are (athletes listed in alphabetical order):


Mohammed Aman (ETH) Usain Bolt (JAM) Bohdan Bondarenko (UKR) Ashton Eaton (USA) Mohamed Farah (GBR) Robert Harting (GER) Wilson Kipsang (KEN) Aleksandr Menkov (RUS) LaShawn Merritt (USA) Teddy Tamgho (FRA)


Valerie Adams (NZL) Abeba Aregawi (SWE) Meseret Defar (ETH) Tirunesh Dibaba (ETH) Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM) Zuzana Hejnova (CZE) Caterine Ibargüen (COL) Sandra Perkovic (CRO) Brianna Rollins (USA) Svetlana Shkolina (RUS).