No London Games talk as Kenyan Olympic Committee holds its AGM

Nov 13, 2021
  • L-R:NOCK Secretary General FK Paul, NOCk Chairman Kipchoge Keino and NOCK 1st Vice Chairman Peter Nderitu.(Photo:SNA File)

The National Olympics Committee of Kenya, NOCK holds its annual General meeting on Wednesday in Nairobi with a diluted agenda that excludes team Kenya’s performance at the London Olympics.

With the long-awaited Olympics report that will dissect the dismal performance by team Kenya in London yet to be presented to the Government, NOCK has moved to block any public discussions.

NOCK Secretary General, Francis K. Paul confirmed the agenda listing discussions and approval of the budget as key discussions for the meeting.

“We cannot have any discussions on this with the Federations as the Olympics report which we are still compiling is not yet out and delivered to the Minister (Ababu Namwamba) as we were instructed. We hope to deliver it at the end of the month.”

It remains to be seen whether the Federations will hold their guns and skip discussions around Kenya’s disastrous London outing as desired, even as they mull over next year’s NOCK elections.

Board members to be confirmed as Honarary life members

Reported  disharmony amongst NOCK and Athletics Kenya was believed to have contributed to the dismal performance which saw the country runners clinch only two gold medals, four silver and five bronze.  

Already there have been meetings of possible alliances amongst some of the Federations to field candidates for the 2013 NOCK elections.  

“There are no discussion on the elections either as we have to wait for the all the affiliated Federations to hold their elections before we can even think of a date,” explained Paul.

The meeting will also be looking to confirm six of its current board members led by Chairman Dr Kipchoge Keino, The 2nd vice chairman David Okeyo, the SG F.K Paul, the Assistant SG James Chacha, the Treasurer Fridah Shiroya and the Asisistant Treasurer Stephen Arap Soi as Honorary Life members. The last AGM held on November 2, confirmed The 1st Vice Chairman Peter Nderitu and John Roberts as Honorary members.


 Evelyn Watta

© All rights reserved