Quins to miss top players at Dala Sevens

By eric odanga
Jul 31, 2021

Kenya Harlequin FC, the top seeds in the Dala Sevens which kicks off the Kenya Rugby Union National Sevens Circuit start their title defence without William Ambaka and Felix Ayange who are in Sri Lanka to play for Jaffna Challengers in the Carlton Sevens.

Patrice Agunda was due to leave for England on Wednesday for the J.P. Morgan Sevens while Nato Simiyu has returned back to Impala.

In the absence of these players, Charles Cardovillis, who is coaching Quins intends to inject more power with one or two forwards. He already has a positive start after winning Masaku Sevens.

“I intend to retain most of the players (if not all) from Masaku Sevens. Cardovillis predicted the Circuit will be competitive. “The circuit will be competitive but with the usual suspects Mwamba, KCB, Strathmore University, Impala and Homeboyz. Nondies could be a surprise package.”

Eden Agero is likely to be included in the team. Impala Welcome Back Nato Simiyu In Kisumu, Impala are likely to welcome back their prodigal son Nato Simiyu one of the most talented players who has had to balance his studies with rugby.

Simiyu returns back to Impala after a season at Kenya Harlequin FC. Nick Abok, the assistant coach at Impala said Simiyu will add an extra edge to the team. “He is quite talented and gifted with enormous skills,” Abok observed. Dominic Habimana ‘Papa’ who has taken over from Eric Situma at Nakuru RFC also predicted a tough Circuit.

“The Circuit is very tough just like the IRB Sevens Circuit. We are now at a level where nobody is a minnow. All games including the pool games are very tough so concentration and consistent execution will be key over the two days,” said Habimana.

Nakuru rely on youth and experience

In Kisumu, Nakuru RFC will have a blend of youth and old players “since we will be increasing all performance metrics such as speed, strength and skill. We will retain some of the youngsters who did well at Masaku Sevens.

Some of them who stood out were Martin Owilla Owilla, Godfrey Mbeya, Don Aluoch, John Kanyiri, Charles Odongo and Cyprian Imbuga,” the coach added. Quins are the top seeds for Dala Sevens which has attracted 32 teams and will be played at Kisumu Polytechnic ground.

There are two divisions and Uganda will send a select side which will play in Division two. Strathmore University, Kenya Commercial Bank and Nondescripts RUFC who misses Masaku Sevens have been included in Dala Sevens. Safaricom are sponsoring the Circuit and given Sh1 million to each of the teams organising the tournaments.

Zuku is also expected to air the matches after signing a contract with KRU.

Dala Sevens draw Pool A: Quins, Impala, Blak Blad, Eldoret RFC Pool B: KCB, Kisumu, Western Bulls, Mean Machine. Pool C: Strathmore University, Mwamba, Nondescripts RUFC, KCA University. Pool D: Nakuru, Homeboyz, Daystar University. Pool E: Uganda Kifaru, Technical University, Moi University, Kabras. Division Two Pool F: Egerton University, Bungoma, Mumias RFC, Kericho. Pool G: JKUAT, Catholic University, Kisii RFC, Kakamega RFC. Pool H: Comras, Masaku, Webuye RFC, Siaya MTC.

Order of play Quins v Blak Blad (10 am), Impala v Eldoret (10.18), KCB v Western Bulls (10.36), Kisumu v Mean Machine (10.54), Strathmore v Nondies (11.12), Mwamba v KCA University (11.30), Nakuru v Daystar University (11.48), Homeboyz v Stormers (12.06), Quins v Eldoret (12.24), Impala v Blak Blad (12.42), KCB v Mean Machine (1 pm), Kisumu v Western Bulls (1.18), Strathmore University v KCA University (1.36), Mwamba v Nondies (1.54), Nakuru v Stormers (2.12), Homeboyz v Daystar University 2.30), Blak Blad v Eldoret (2.48), Western Bulls v Mean Machine (3.06), Nondies v KCA University 3.24), Daystar University v Stormers (3.42), Quins v Impala (4 pm), KCB v Kisumu (4.18), Strathmore University v Mwamba (4.36), Nakuru v Homeboyz (4.54). Division two Uganda Kifaru v Moi University (10 am), TUK v Kabras (10.18), Egerton v Mumias (10.36), Bungoma v Kericho (10.54), JKUAT v Kisii (11.12), Catholic University v Kakamega (11.30), Comras v Webuye (11.48), Masaku v Siaya (12.06), Uganda Kifaru v Kabras (12.24), TUK v Moi University (12.42) Egerton v Kericho (1 pm), Bungoma v Mumias (1.18), JKUAT v Kakamega (1.36), Catholic University v Kisii (1.54), Comras v Siaya (2.12), Masaku v Webuye (2.30), Moi University v Kabras (2.48), Mumias v Kericho (3.06), Kisii v Kakamega (3.24), Webuye v Siaya (3.42), Uganda Kifaru v TUK (4 pm), Egerton v Bungoma (4.18), JKUAT v Catholic University (4.36), Comras v Masaku (4.54).