Sports Tribunal throws out Thika play-off petition

By alex wafula
Dec 21, 2017
  • Meddie Kagere was named as the Player of The Year. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Gianni Merlo of AIPS presents the Golden Boot to Massoud Juma. (Photo by Shutterspeed)

  • Harambee Stars were promised rewards by the Deputy President. (Photo by Alex Wafula)

The Sports Disputes Tribunal has thrown out a petition by Thika United protesting their promotion/relegation play off against National Super League side Ushuru FC.

The tribunal further lashed out at Kenyan Premier League side for failing to substantiate their claims that the decision for a play-off was illegal.

Thika had obtained temporary orders stopping the December 10 and 13 play off with Ushuru, but while delivering the ruling, chair John Ohaga said they might have been misled to make the decision.

So irate was the tribunal with Thika’s petition that they ordered them to bear the costs for the entire petition.

“In view of the conduct of the petitioner, we direct that it meets the costs of the respondents and the interested party on a full indemnity basis. It shall also be responsible for any wasted costs occasioned by the postponement of the play-offs,” Ohaga’s ruling read.

It further warned; “We remind not only the petitioners but all parties who approach this tribunal that the duty of a litigant is to make a full and fair disclosure of the material facts. In the present case it is our view that the non-disclosure was not innocent at all but deliberate and such conduct cannot be countenanced by this tribunal.”

Ohaga’s tribunal could not understand why Thika would come before it to protest the play-off while in the first place, they had agreed to it and even attended a pre-match meeting at the federation offices.

George Maina, the club CEO had also written to KPL asking them to intervene on their behalf and ask the federation to push the play-off to a new date so that they can be well prepared.

Further to their claim that they only knew of the play off after the season, the tribunal learnt that the federation sent two letters; in March before the season started and in June informing the league managers of the promotion and relegation criteria for the 2018 season.

Ohaga accused Thika of failing to legally back their arguments saying they might have been misled in the first place to issue the temporary injunction.

FKF is now set to announce a new date for the play off.

The federation had outlined that after the automatic relegation of the bottom two, the 16th placed KPL team would play the third placed team from the second tier.

Kagere feted

Meanwhile, Gor Mahia striker Meddie Kagere was named the Sports Journalists Association of Kenya (SJAK) player of the year.

Kagere who missed the crown by inches in 2015 beat off competition from teammate George Odhiambo and Kariobangi Sharks forward Massoud Juma.

“It is an honor to get this award and I want to dedicate it to my teammates who helped me and pushed me to work hard. At the start of the season I told myself that I must get something and here is the reward,” an emotional Kagere said.

Kagere had a brilliant season with K’Ogalo in his second return, directly contributing to 18 goals, scoring 14 and assisting four.

The Golden Glove went to Kariobangi Sharks goal keeper, John Oyemba who managed 16 clean sheets, beating Kakamega Homeboyz custodian David Juma (15) to second place while Posta Rangers’ Patrick Matasi (15) was third.

Gor Mahia captain Musa Mohammed was named the Defender of the Year, ahead of Posta Rangers’ Jockins Atudo while Godfrey Walusimbi made the podium by finishing third.

In the Midfielder of the Year category, Blackberry waded off stiff competition from Nzoia Sugar FC’s Lawrence Juma who was runners-up while Michael Madoya from Zoo FC settled for third.

Zoo FC striker, Nicholas Kipkirui was named the New Young Player ahead of AFC Leopards’ Vincent Oburu who was second while Nzoia Sugar FC defender Brian Otieno was second runners-up.

Ugandan tactician Sam Ssimbwa scooped the Coach of the Year Award ahead of Kariobangi Sharks’ William Muluya who was runners-up after guiding the newly promoted team to third place in the league.

Mike Mururi was second runners-up after guiding Kakamega Homeboyz to fifth position in the league.

All nominees received a Sh300,000 grant courtesy of the National Sports Fund with all winners taking home a 49-inch smart television, runners-up were awarded a fridge while third place finishers went home with a microwave all courtesy of sponsors LG Electronics.

Ruto promise

Elsewhere, Deputy President William Ruto has promised that the government will reward the national football team Harambee Stars with Sh50mn if they qualify for the 2019 African Cup of Nations in Cameroon.

Ruto made the promise on Tuesday when he hosted the team for breakfast at his official residence in Karen following their CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup triumph.

“The more difficult part is ahead of us. The AFCON is a year and abit ahead of us. We must qualify and we must win. We must make history and I am confident this is the team to make history. Let me commit, if you qualify as a team the government of Kenya will give the team Sh50mn to share,” Ruto promised.

He congratulated them for their resilience in winning the CECAFA title, beating Zanzibar 3-2 on penalties. He also delivered on his Sh5mn promise.

Also, the President Uhuru Kenyatta directed the Ministry of Sports to award them with a further Sh10mn which brings their total reward cash to Sh21.5mn. The money will be split equally among all members of the 37-member technical bench.