Sserunkuma, Wanga top KPL awards nominee shortlist

By nesta kizito
Nov 14, 2021
  • AFC's Allan Wanga has been shortlisted for the Player of the Year award.(Photo:SNA File)

  • Gor Mahia striker Dan Sserunkuma receives last year's player of the Year award.(Photo:SNA File)

Despite winning the Kenyan Premier League in commanding fashion, only three Gor Mahia players have made the final shortlist of nominees for this year’s Footballer of the Year Award slated for next week.

Last season, Gor Mahia, even after losing out the trophy to Tusker, dominated the awards carting away four individual awards including the Best Player and Coach of the Year’s title.

This time round, it will be goalkeeper and team captain Jerim Onyango, utility defender David Owino – who has been nominated in two categories – and Uganda striker Dan Sserunkuma who will represent K’Ogalo’s interest at the gala night on November 20.

The trio was all instrumental in K’Ogalo’s successful campaign but it is Onyango who is heavily tipped to bag the golden glove which has eluded him for the last three seasons.

The other nominees in the category are Wycliffe Kasaya of Sony Sugar, Sammy Okinda of KCB, Bandari’s Wilson Obungu and Duncan Ochieng' of Mathare United whose performance all pale in comparison to Onyango imperious form.

Owino also looks like the definite favourite to lift the defender of the year’s award which he will be contesting against Sofapaka’s Felly Mulumba, Mohammed Sherrif (Bandari), John Odhiambo (KCB) and David Mwangi of Mathare United.

The best player’s award will be the most closely contest category with Sserunkuma, who won the award last year and AFC Leopards striker Allan Wanga the clear favourites.

Wanga wound up the season as Ingwe’s most prolific striker netting 11 goals this season, a strike rate that was only bettered by Jacob Keli of KCB (17 goals) and Tusker’s Jesse Were (15 goals).

Lean season

Sserunkuma, on other hand, had a somewhat lean season notching just 8 goals as compared to the 17 goals he banged in last term to finish second behind Sofapaka’s John Baraza. Regardless, the Ugandan striker’s input contributed in large way to K’Ogalo’s success.

Also nominated in this category is KCB’s Keli, who for his goal scoring feat stands an outside chance to pip Wanga and Sserunkuma. Bandari’s Shaban Kenga and David Owino complete the shortlist.

The AFC Leopards’ duo of Paul Were and Peter ‘Pinchez’ Opiyo are the top contenders for the midfielder of the year award which they will contest against Brian Osumba of KCB, Kenga (Bandari) and Thika United’s blue-eyed boy Francis Kahata.

The defender of the year’s gong will be a straight fight involving Sofapaka’s Felly Mulumba, Mohammed Sherrif (Bandari), John Odhiambo (KCB) and David Mwangi (Mathare United), although the Sofapaka man looks to have a slight edge. Youngsters Patillah Omotto (AFC Leopards), Moses Mudavadi (Homeboyz), Stephen Wakhanya (Chemelil Sugar), Sammy Meja (Thika United) and Tusker’s Michael Olunga make up the new young player of the year’s shortlist.

Coach of the Year

The only category that will raise eyebrows is that of the Coach of the Year, from which league winning coach Bobby Williamson of Gor Mahia and AFC Leopards’ James Nandwa are both missing.

There is very little to choose from nominees in this list which includes David Ouma (Sofapaka), John Kamau (Thika United), Twahhir Muhhidin (Bandari), Abdalla Juma (KCB) and Robert Matano (Tusker). Abdalla Juma, however, stands in good stead to clinch the title on the account of his team’s good run in the league. KCB finished fourth behind Gor Mahia, AFC Leoarcds and Sofapaka.

2013 KPL awards nominee shortlist
Goalkeeper of the year: Wycliffe Kasaya - Sony Sugar Sammy Okinda - KCB Jerim Onyango - Gor Mahia Wilson Obungu - Bandari Duncan Ochieng' - Mathare United
Defender of the year: Felly Mulumba - Sofapaka Mohammed Sherrif - Bandari John Odhiambo - KCB David Mwangi - Mathare United David Owino - Gor Mahia
Fair Play player of the year: Dennis Onkangi - Western Stima James Situma - Sofapaka Oliver Ruto - Mathare Shaban Kenga - Bandari Sammy Okinda - KCB
Coach of the year: David Ouma - Sofapaka John Kamau - Thika United Twahhir Muhhidin - Bandari Abdalla Juma - KCB Robert Matano - Tusker
Midfielder of the year: Brian Osumba - KCB Shaban Kenga - Bandari Paul Were - AFC Leopards Francis Kahata - Thika United Peter Opiyo - AFC Leopards
New young player of the year: Patillah Omotto - AFC Leopards Moses Mudavadi - Homeboyz Stephen Wakhanya - Chemelil Sugar Sammy Meja - Thika United Micheal Olunga - Tusker
Best player of the year: Allan Wanga - AFC Leopards Dan Sserunkuma - Gor Mahia Jacob Keli - KCB Shaban Kenga - Bandari David Owino – Gor Mahia
Team manager of the year: Dan Omondi - Karuturi Sports Josphat Okal - KCB Alfred Achayo - Bandari Tom Ochong - Chemelil Sugar Moses Nyalik - Western Stima