Tergat unopposed after new Constitution knocks out Keino

By ronnie evans
Apr 26, 2017
  • Paul Tergat’s election as the new NOCK chairman gained momentum after Kipchoge Keino was barred on technicality by the new Constitution. (SNA. File Photo)

Kenyan athletics long distance great and five time world cross country champion Paul Tergat is set to contest the presidency of the National Olympic Committee of Kenya unopposed in the May 5 elections.

This is because the incumbent president Kipchoge Keino, has been locked out on technicalities according to the new constitution that provides guidelines to the Olympics body.

Wednesday was the ultimate day provided by Centre for Multiparty Democracy, the body that will oversee the elections, to complete candidature procedures.

Irene Tindi, CDM’s secretary released the names of 30 candidates expected to contest various positions.

According to the list circulated by Tindi, several other candidates will be unnopposed during the elections.

One of them is rugby sevens veteran Humphrey ‘Tall’ Kayange, who was instrumental in the introduction of rugby sevens as an Olympic sport for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

He will be vying for athletes representative position alongside 2016 Olympic 5000m silver medallist Hellen Obiri.

Kioni to vie for second vice president

Kenya Volleyball Federation chairman Waithaka Kioni was widely tipped to challenge Tergat for the top seat but he will instead square off with Athletics Kenya president Jackson Tuwei for the position of second vice-president.

The incumbent Pius Ochieng will not defend his seat at the elections.

"I am grateful to have this opportunity because we want change and I believe that we can work together with whoever is elected. At the end of it all it is the interests of the sportsmen and women that matter. It will be a democratic process and hopefully the new team will steer the body in the right direction," Tergat said earlier.

NOCK first vice president Ben Ekumbo will also not defend his seat. It will now be a two horse race for the position after CMD cleared Kenya Hockey Union chairman Nashon Randiek and Shadrack Maluki from Kenya Judo Association.

According to the elections guidelines provided in the constitution, NOCK affiliate federations are eligible to vote.

In this particular election, only 15 federations have been cleared to vote. The Kenya Badminton Association, Kenya Cycling Federation, Kenya Taekwondo Association and Kenya Weightlifting Federation still do not have the nod as they have not filed their returns.

Tergat, as an International Olympic Committee member alongside Tegla Loroupe and women representative Paurvi Rawal also have voting rights.

Summary of NOCK election candidates (provided by CMD)

President: Paul Tergat (Athletics Kenya)- unopposed

First Vice president: Shadrack Maluki (Kenya Judo Association), Nahashon Randiek (Kenya Hockey Union).

Second vice-president: Waithaka Kioni (Kenya Volleyball Federation), Jackson Tuwei (Athletics Kenya).

Secretary General: Francis. K Paul (Kenya Handball Federation), Andrew Mudibo (Kenya Table Tennis Association), John Kilonzo (Kenya Rugby Union).

Deputy Secretary General: James Chacha (Kenya Taekwondo), Francis Mutuku (Kenya Lawn Tennis Association), Timothy Nabea (Football Kenya Federation) John Ogola (Kenya Weightlifting Federation).

Treasurer: Elynah Shiveka (Kenya Hockey Union), Ann Njambi (Kenya Badminton Association), Eliud Kariuki (Kenya Weightlifting Federation).

Deputy Treasurer: Stephen Soi (Kenya Taekwondo Association), Charles Mose (Kenya Cycling Federation), Dr Paul Rwambo (Kenya Golf Association), John Kameta (Boxing Association of Kenya).

Committee members: Catherine Ndereba (Athletics Kenya), Julius Mwangi (Kenya Cycling Federation), Paul Otula (Kenya Basketball Federation), Suleiman Sumba (Kenya Taekwondo Association), Mohammed Shuaib (Kenya Shooting Federation).

Women Representative: Tegla Loroupe (Athletics Kenya), Paurvi Rawal (Tennis Kenya), Roselyn Njeri (Kenya Swimming Federation), Peter Muchiri (Kenya Badminton Association).

Male Athletes Representative: Humphrey Kayange (Kenya Rugby Union) – Unopposed; Hellen Obiri (Athletics Kenya) – Unopposed.