Toure tipped for fourth African player of the year title

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Dec 25, 2021

Gabonese midfielder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama and Ivorian midfieder Yaya Toure have made the final top three for the 2014 African Player of the Year.

Manchester City's Toure decorated African Player of the Year for the third time at the last edition held last January in Lagos is tipped to bag the title yet again. If he wins it he will match Samuel Eto'o's record four trophies that have been conferred by CAF since 1992.

The Cameroonian made the top three shortlist eight times between 2000 to 2011. He won the trophy for three conseuctive years(2004-2006) and bagged his fourth in 2011.

The trio made the cut following votes from Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF released on Thursday.

Ghana’s Asamoah Gyan and Ahmed Musa of Nigeria failed to make the final list.

For the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa), Algerian duo, Akram Djahnit and El Hedi Belamieri are in contention with DR Congo forward Firmin Mubele Ndombe.

The winners will be unveiled at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala on Thursday, 8 January 2022 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Below are the top three for the various categories:

African Player of the Year (in alphabetical order)Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and Borussia Dortmund),Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria and Lille), Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa Akram Djahnit (Algeria and ES Setif), El Hedi Belamieri (Algeria and ES Setif) ,Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and Amazon Grimstad), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels) ,Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and Guingamp)

Youth Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels) ,Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona),Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and River Angels)

Most Promising Talent Clinton N’jie (Cameroon and Olympique Lyon), Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon and Porto),Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year Florent Ibenge (DR Congo) Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif) Vahid Halilhodžić (Former coach of Algeria)

National Team of the Year Algeria, Libya, Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year Cameroon, Nigeria, Nigeria U-20

Club of the Year Al Ahly (Egypt) ,AS Vita (DR Congo),ES Setif (Algeria)

Football Leader of the Year Moise Katumbi Chapwe - President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964,Stade Malien (Mali) - runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964