Yego, Olunga, Kiprop in SOYA nominees top five shortlist

By sportsnewsarena correspondent
Jan 03, 2022
  • Michael Olunga has been shortlisted for the SOYA sportsman of the year award.(Photo: SNA file)

  • Julius Yego the Javelin World champion.

World champions Julius Yego and Asbel Kiprop lead a stellar field of five athletes that also includes Gor Mahia’s striker Michael Olunga nominated for the 2015 Sportsman of the year award who will be unveiled on January 15, at the Kenyatta International Conference Centre.

Safaricom has unveiled a free SMS voting platform where the public can choose for their preferred athlete by dialling *279# from their mobile phones.

National men’s hockey team goalkeeper Linus Kipkemboi is the surprise select of the five athletes.

Kipkemboi’s outstanding performance for Kenya at the Africa Championships saw him named the best keeper.

He plays for USIU men’s team and has been manning the Kenyan goal posts for the past three years.

Yego, the world javelin champion and Kiprop the gold winner in the 1500m are the only two of the seven gold medallists from Beijing who made the shortlist for the top prize that also comprises World Cross Country champion Geoffrey Kamworor and Kenya’s footballer of the year 2015 Olunga.

The women’s top five has a diversified listing of sports women that includes the top lady shooter of 2015 Nune Bonaya, top marathoner Florence Kipgalat and Gladys Cherono.

Bonaya just fell short of making history when she finished second in the Kenya Open Bisley tournament.

Attacker Mercy Moim, Malkia’s strikers top scorer from the world grand prix who recently signed for a Finnish club and Naomi Wafula, the leading lady golfer complete the women’s list.

Rugby and Volleyball stand out in the teams

Rugby and volleyball dominate both the men and women’s top five nominees.

KCB Rugby, Simba 15’s, National Hockey team, Gor Mahia and Harambee Star are the five teams that will be gunning for the SOYA men’s team award.

Malkia Strikers’ two squads the All Africa Games champions and the world grand prix group winners, Kenya Volleyball league champions Kenya Pipeline and Africa Club champions Orange Telkom are the top five women’s teams.